sexta-feira, 19 de agosto de 2011

Muddy Waters - Got My Mojo Working (Rare Performances 1968-1978) (2000)

Muddy Waters - Got My Mojo Working (Rare Performances 1968-1978) (2000)
DVD-5 | MPEG2 720x480 (4:3) 30fps 6.59Mbps | Dolby Digital 48kHz 384Kbps | 00:53:00 | 2.9 GB (3% rec.)
Electric Blues | Label: Shanachie / Yazoo 521

These rare performances -- all electric -- capture Muddy as the embers of his career glowed anew. By 1968, the folk blues had waned and the sound he popularized in the mid-1950s was returning to the fore. Over the next decade, Muddy secured his place as the godfather of rock and roll. The slide guitar technique he plays on these versions of Country Boy, Honey Bee, and Long Distance Call is at once contemporary and as pure as when he learned it as a dusty child in the delta fifty years earlier. In Got My Mojo Working, Muddy works the vocals from his cavernous chest into his mouth and then shakes the words from his jowls and cheeks. His singing is as glorious as his playing.
Throughout his career, Muddy always drew exceptional sideman. Muddy's two great pianists -- Otis Spann and Pinetop Perkins -- are both featured here, as are harmonica players Carey Bell, Paul Oscher, and Jerry Portnoy. Guitarists include Pee Wee Madison, Bob Margolin, and Luther Johnson, and on the skins are Muddy's last two great drummers, S.P. Leary and Willie "Big Eyes" Smith.


1. Blow, Wind, Blow
2. Country Boy
3. Got My Mojo Working
4. Baby Please Don't Go
5. Honey Bee
6. They Call Me Muddy Waters
7. Walking Through the Park
8. Long Distance Call
9. Mannish Boy
10. Caldonia
11. Everything Gonna Be All Right
12. 12th of April (Soon Forgotten)

Blow, Wind, Blow and Honey Bee from Musikladen (1974),
Long Distance Call and Got My Mojo Working from History of Soul (1968),
all other performances from Rockpalast concert (1978).

Many thanks to the original releaser – karlll!

Downloads folder

Downloads folder

Atomic Rooster - Nice 'n' Greasy (1973) [2004 remaster]

Atomic Rooster - Nice 'n' Greasy (1973) [2004 remaster]
Rock | 1cd | EAC Rip | Flac + Cue + Log | covers
Castle | 2004 remaster | 450Mb

Atomic Rooster experienced several lineup changes during their initial tenure in the early '70s, with Nice 'n' Greasy being the band's last before disbanding. By this time the band's musical direction had shifted from hard rock and progressive rock to a style more closely resembling blues/funk. The addition of Chris Farlowe gives the music an aggressive edge, while John Mandella's guitar work beckons images of John McLaughlin. The effort is genuine, and songs such as "Take One Toke" and "Can't Find a Reason" show the band's diversity, but there are too many inconsistent moments and nonsensical lyrics. It's too bad that Vincent Crane did not keep the band together for longer period of time, as they were obviously a talented group of musicians with a definitive sound, just lacking a firm direction. (Allmusic)

Track listing
1 "All Across the Country" (Crane) 5:10
2 "Save Me" (Crane) 3:14 - rerecorded, retitled version of "Friday the 13th"
3 "Voodoo in You" (Jackie Avery) 7:04
4 "Goodbye Planet Earth" (Mandala) 4:09
5 "Take One Toke" (Crane) 4:59
6 "Can't Find a Reason" (Crane) 4:34
7 "Ear in the Snow" (Crane) 6:13
8 "Satan's Wheel" (Crane) 6:39
2004 Castle Music CD reissue bonus tracks
9 "What You Gonna Do?" (Farlowe) 5:23
10 "Moods" (Crane) 4:20 - "Can't Find a Reason" single B-side
11 "The Devil's Answer" (Du Cann) 4:09 - live in Milan 1981
12"Throw Your Life Away" (Crane, Du Cann) 2:49 - "Do You Know Who’s Looking for You?" single B-side 1980

- Vincent Crane: Hammond organ, electric piano, piano, ARP synthesizer
- Chris Farlowe: vocals
- Johnny Mandala: guitars
- Ric Parnell: drums, percussion

Thx to the original uploader